Our alumni continue to make outstanding contributions to society through producing global, interdisciplinary, and socially-relevant solutions to solve the complex problems of the 21st century. Together, graduates strive toward the vision of a world that embraces sustainability of infrastructure and the environment. 

Connect with alumni and friends via social media:

Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering social media accounts:

Notable Alumni

UF Distinguished Alumnus Award Recipients

  • Charles (Chick) W. Gregg:  Received UF College of Engineering Distinguished Alumnus Award. President & CEO, Greater Construction Corp. & Retired Ex. Vice President & CEO of Reynolds, Smith & Hills.
  • Bob Powell:  Received UF College of Engineering Distinguished Alumnus Award. Powell Brothers Barge Terminal, Inc.
  • Arthur W. Saarinen:  Received College of Engineering Distinguished Alumnus Award.
  • Dr. R. Bruce Taylor:  Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of Taylor Engineering, Inc. Received UF College of Engineering Distinguished Alumnus Award.
  • John W. Vogt:  Received UF College of Engineering Distinguished Alumnus Award.
  • Dr. Paul Zung-Teh Zia:  Received UF College of Engineering Distinguished Alumnus Award , Retired from NC State Dept. of Civil Engineering & formerly of Becton Dickinson.
  • Dr. Michael Durham

ESSIE Alumni of Distinction

  • Dr. Kathy Banks:  Dean of the College of Engineering Texas A&M
  • Karen Bass:  Partner and Principal of Moore Bass Consulting. Serves on the Board of Directors for the Bank of Tallahassee as well as the Board of Directors for the Tallahassee Lenders Consortium.
  • Dr. Philip Bedient:  Dr. Philip B. Bedient is the Herman Brown Professor of Engineering in Civil and Environmental Engineering at Rice University.
  • Dr. Mark Brown:  Professor, Director of the Center for Wetlands, EES, ESSIE, UF
  • Mr. Jack Campo:  Co-Founder of Kisinger, Campo & Associates. Endowed the Kisinger, Campo & Associates Term Professorship in Transportation.
  • Mr. David O. Charland:  Chairman of Jenkins and Charland, Inc. Appointed by Florida Governor Jeb Bush to serve on the Florida Board of Professional Engineers.
  • Dr. David Cornwell:  President of Environmental Engineering and Technology
  • Deborah P. Divine :  Former mayor of Salina, Kansas.
  • Mimi Drew:  former Secretary of the Florida Department of Environmental Protection and currently President of Drew & Assoc.
  • Dr. Michael Durham:  President and CEO of ADA-ES, Inc.
  • Mr. Bob Edmunds:  Executive Vice President of Jones Edmunds.
  • Mr. Donald L. Ellington:  Co-founder of Cassueax and Ellington, now named Causseaux, Hewett & Walpole.
  • Dr. Efi Foufoula-Georgiou:  Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Joseph T. and Rose S. Ling Chair in Environmental Engineering, Director, National Center for Earth-surface Dynamics (NCED)
  • Thomas Furman:  Former CEO of CDM
  • W.W. “Gric” Gibbs:  One of the Department of Civil Engineering’s first graduates – 1909.
  • Mr. Tom R. Kelley:  CCE Graduate and Football Hall of Fame.
  • Dr. Miguel Medina:  Professor Emeritus, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Duke University
  • Mr. Raymond W. Miller:  Former CEO of WilsonMiller, Inc. Serves on the Florida Engineering Foundation Board of Trustees. ASCE Engineer of the Year in 1987.
  • Dr. William Mitsch:  Eminent Scholar and Director, Everglades Wetland Research Park, Florida Gulf Coast University, Naples, Florida.
  • Dr. Steven Nix:  Dean of the College of Engineering Texas A&M, Kingsville
  • Mr. Stephen L. Precourt:  Former principal of DRMP (Dyer, Riddle Mills, and Precourt). Now serves on Florida House of Representatives. American Society of Civil Engineers, Central Florida Chapter, Engineer of the Year 2004 & 2006.
  • Mr. J.P. “Butch” Terpening:  Founder and President of Culpepper and Terpening.
  • Dr. Tim Townsend:  Professor, EES, ESSIE, UF
  • Robert Uhler:  MWH Global Chairman and CEO